Odd Type Signs

Yesterday I had what I call an “odd” or “creepy” type sign. I inquired of my friends and some say they’ve gotten it too. Some also say they’re thankful to NOT get that sign. Funny.

What does that mean? Is it a bad thing? I don’t think it’s a bad thing at all. I think it’s a sign that we really, really must notice for our path. Signs come in all shapes and sizes, from conversations to colors. Sometimes they come in threes, sometimes they repeat many times to bring comfort, and sometimes they come as odd and creepy.

One of my friends asked me, “So what is a creepy sign?” Well, in this particular instance, it was an online message from a friend we choose to have parted ways from many years ago. They were going in certain directions and we were going in others…the paths diverged many years ago. There was no real harm in it, just making different choices.

The fact that the friend messaged me wasn’t really completely odd. Sometimes you may want to inquire of someone you’re thinking about, maybe you want to send condolences, maybe you heard something you feel the need to read out for. There are many reasons for that.

What was the odd thing were the words she’d chosen in that message. You know you talk a certain way with certain friends. Maybe more formal with some friends, more relaxed speaking with others. It’s part of why you like some friends more than others and also the etiquette of being social.

In this particular situation, she’d chosen words we’d never have said to each other at all. Our friendship wasn’t on that kind of “speaking words” level. It was on a level much different. So, the first time I read the message, I thought it was odd. Later in the day, I went back to the message and read it with a more open way of thinking.

On that second reading, I understood it to be a message for me of great significance. It then rang clear as a sign coming in such a way I would notice it. I would also think on it several times too. I didn’t realize it was a message from God the first time. I just thought it was creepy. Funny. Now I know better that God wanted me to clearly notice the message without having to repeat it or send it in a way I may not have noticed. In this situation, I noticed.

Leave a comment