Learn by Observing

Yesterday I was playing one of my little computer games. I had played it before, years ago. The game was probably in it’s infant stages of being created back then, because I’d gotten to the an ending point where I could go no farther forward.

About a month ago, I bought a tablet and sought out some games to put on it. I discover this game again, download it, and find it’s expanded a great deal from that beginning. I’m enjoying the game much more this time around.

There is a base “Camp” with activities to grow the board. I used to think there wasn’t much to that part of the game, mostly being interested in the little challenge games. What I’ve come to find is a complex part of the game.

We were lining things up next to each other as we accomplished them, bigger trees, a pond surrounded by blooming flowers, pretty bushes in their spot. It made the board neater.

Last night I discovered that the bigger things, the trees, bushes, pond, all needed space around them to “give” whatever it is they are programmed to give. The pond gives grass, the trees give little flowers, the bushes give mushrooms. It’s quite fun.

It was an interesting observation for me though. These things must have breathing room to grow. Isn’t that part of how we are? Don’t we need breathing room, exploring room, space to feel freedom in? Wouldn’t putting people and things right next to us make us feel restricted, claustrophobic, not able to move in any direction…much less a forward direction? It was a powerful observation for me. Maybe it will be so for you?

 

Leave a comment